Northowram Juniors vs Uppermill U14 West Riding junior trophy final

This Sunday cup final match between Northowram and Uppermill was a great cup match filled with all the usual ups and downs between the two teams.

The game started off very strongly for Uppermill with an early goal followed by two goals in quick succession leaving Northowram stunned. However out of no wear towards the end of the first half Northowram who were looking downhearted and defeated came out of nowhere to score one of the best goals I have ever seen from this age group. With a run down the wing past the defender and a quick cross across the face of the goal Northowram scored a goal that would have been worthy of the premiership to bring them back into the game at 3-1.

As soon as Northowram came out in the second half you could see the determination in their eyes. They needed an early goal to get back into this game and being spurred on from their late goal in the first half they did just that and the game was really on. The rest of the game was true end to end football with both teams really giving it them all to try and score.

Northowram really tried to score that equaliser however they could not get passed the Uppermill defence and the final score was Uppermill 3, Northowram 2.

I would just like to congratulate both teams for a really good match and they should be both proud of how they played as it could have been either team winning.

Northowram players were:

George Action, Cameron Wright, Saxon Hargreaves, Joshua Greenwood, Matthew Airey, Jacob Scott, Logan Simpson, Alexander Kingsley, Luke Cranswick, Joshua Silson, Finn Donovan, Declan Lampton, Bradley Ho, Harry Williams.

Manager: Peter Simpson

Assistant Kevin Donovan

Uppermill players were:

Ewan Mcfarlane, Danny Mcgroarty, Bradley Sykes, Oliver Griffiths, Matt Barlow, Harrison Jackson, Dylan Hey, Joe Lamb, Jake Dunford, Brandon Halliwell, Adam Howarth, Dylan Fitzgerald, Joe Mitchell, Joe Ireland, Max Ramsiler, Joe Ellison.

Manager: Chris Barlow and Adam Fitzgerald.

Referee: Christopher Moore

Assistant 1: Kieran Dawson

Assistant 2: Robert Frost

4th Official: Stephen Fussey